All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Jul 2016
7 / 19
Jul 2016
Jul 2016

I bought a suzuki swift DLX MT from suzuki Burj motors from faisalabad and I've driven it for about 950km and it's giving me an average of 9kmpl which I find disturbing as I was assuming that despite the fact that swift is considered to be a gas guzzler, it would still give an average of 11-12kmpl.
My question is that will the mileage improve after the running period of the engine is complete? And if it doesn't then what steps should I take?
I drive with a moderate foot, switching gears between 3000-3500 rpm.

• created

Jul '16
  • last reply

Jul '16

replies

views

user

Mileage is shabby in initial running mate. It well improve at around 10k km mark or earlier. You may notice improvement after oil changes. Relax, it's a brand new car. Give it some time :slight_smile:

Since it is brand new it will not give good mileage, after 5000 it should improve, also change gears at 2500-3000,use Zic xq 5W40, and plugs autolite xp 3923 and you should get good milage.

Sent from my SM-A500F using PW Forums mobile app

swift fuel average is not good
swift gives 9-10 km/l in city so dont expect more than this from swift

Sent from my GT-I9505 using PW Forums mobile app

Man you need to break your engine slow. A friend of mine bought Swift with me, delivered on same day but his Swift has average around 10. The only difference is that he had a heavy foot on accelerator and used to do alot of hi speed sprints during initial running. Shift gears between 2 to 2.5 RPM max.

change gear at 3000-3500 rpm and u call it a moderate foot? bhai change gear b/w 1500-2500 rpm..aur new cars ki initial running crucial period hota hai..jiss mein engine pistion aur seals settle ho rae hoti hain..pehlay 1000-1500 km tk speed 60-70 se ziada nae rakhtay.agar initial running sae ki hoi ho to engine ki life aur mileage par boht farq parta hai..i have suzuki swift DLX 1.3 6000 km driven. 50% AC within city par mjhey 14-16 km/l de rae hai :slight_smile:

Agreed 100% bro. People ruin car engine in running period and then complain about poor milage.

Sent from my HUAWEI GRA-UL00 using PW Forums mobile app

Isn't all these engines coming already with test run, my understanding is they already came with test ran engines..i just bought a swift dlx and the mileage is same as 10-12 depends on your foot

Sent from my iPhone using PW Forums mobile

Car engines are run in from the factory, but it's still best to be gentle with the car for the first 1000-1500 kms. That's the point where the final bedding-in of the rings and cylinders takes place. Also, be gentle with your gearbox during this time

@khaleeq.. Respectfully i don't agree, one need to be gentle with his ride..sure..but this ain't the reason or kindly provide some authentic information on topic

Sent from my iPhone using PW Forums mobile

The Initial Break-In On Engines Are Done From Factory But Initial 1-5k Km Run Will Help It Ease And Settle Totally

That's Why Quick oil Changes On 1st Initial Runs Are Required To Complete The Break-In....

Mileage May Increase Abit After 1st Initial 1000km Run But Dont Expect Miracles Afterward

Bro what about my car. 2000 driven. oil never changed. toyota says to get it changed after 5k. I also believe changing oil every 4-5k is ridiculous. But for the first time I want to change it earlier but I don’t know which oil is right now in. Got delivery in May. Any suggestion…!

Get Recommended Oil/Filter Changed After 1000Km Is A Good Thing For Newly Break-In Engine....Do It Under 1000Miles Most

The Reason Toyota Don't Is Because They Need To Do It Under Initial Service Which They Never Will In Any Circumstances Due To COST

So Get It Done Its 2000km Driven..Change Oil And Get Fresh One Filled...The Max Amount Of Wear And Tear Is Done In These Initial Run Due To Tiny Metal Shaving ...

Can you tell me exactly which grade oil should i use for my car?I mean whats recommended for a new egine