All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Oct 2009
15 / 30
Oct 2009
Dec 2009

its ok brother.well gari lay lain.but maintainance thori xpensive hai,or parts bhi.but ap apna mehanic or electrician,yeh sab aik hi rekhye ga..means k ap 10 logon ko gari check mut karwaye ga.kyon k 10 hath lagtay hain tu gari makes a trouble and money wasted too..!!

Dear l used 90's( same as 88 , only diff is power sunroof & power side mirror) civic for around 16 years the car was ran around 224000 Km's on petrol .... just sold last year..

thats a excelent car i always missing that.. this was luxurious and comfortable family car, although parts are slightly expensive but easily avilable.. i sold that car in 225000/= as no one is using from last 2 years and color are goinging faded ...

@ ansari.. thanx man.. thats definitely a good tip.. will keep that in mind for sure...

@ abq_honda good to hear finally from someone who has actually owned the car...if possible do give me ur cell no... i hav 2 ask u a few things...!!!

I had a 1989 Civic. We bought it brand new and sold it around 2001 or so @ 84000 km roughly. The car had:

1) very poor acceleration. I was a teenager back then (and of course stupid). We raced a few cars back the. The car running on petrol would easily lose to a Suzuki Mehran (Alto at the time).

2) very bad road grip. It couldn't take a turn @ 30kmh that my neighbor's Nissan Sunnry could take @ 40 kmh easily.

3) very bad comfort wise. The rear of the car jumped up-and-down-up-and-down-up-and-down several times and made your back ache. The suspension was very poorly designed.

I basically did not like anything about the car except the body styling. Given the choice all over again, I would buy a 1989 Corolla instead.

@ Very nice n economical car to keep.

Parts are available and not too expansive.

A/C is good

1200 cc in a bit underpowered fot it so go for 1500 cc or 1600cc Civic 95 eigine swap

ADVERTISEMENT

@ NoWorNever

thanks man... your comments are quite encouraging!!! hav u kept the car urself?? i was a bit worried about its performance on cng with a/c.. any idea about that? also please give a rough idea about its mileage!
hope 2 hear from others soon!!

As mention @NoWorNeVeR its really econoamal car , its always given 10+ km's on petrol although i was not concern about petrol as its provided by my company that time. Once you use this car you feel the luxury currently i had GLi 2007 but trust me Civic 90 is moreeeeeeee comfortable then GLi.. only thing which i want to mention you its road clearance is bit lower you are very careful at breakeers otherwise your silencer will hit ... on other hand due to low clearance its grip are very nice..in my modle 90 its came with orignal honda alloys...other thing its rear seating capicity is very good you can accomodate 4 elder person (normal built) very easily ..

In 16 years i had replaced excel joints , rubbers end , radiator, silencer twicly, where once i replaced fuel pump as well....

1 month later

@lahorite01

Boss i had previously kept this car back in 2001-2003, in 1193 cc.

A good endine with 55 cylinder should give u around 100-110 km (local) and 133-135 (long)

This car i bought last year, engine was weak n gear was even 50% when i bought it n i had in my mind to get them replaced with 1500cc and so i did as soon as i bought the car.

Now its going gr8 Mashallah. 125-140 km in local (summer) and 165+ easily on long route 55 cylinder, goes upto 145+ on CNG, AC even works without giving much load to the engine. Pick is also owesome ......

I would highly suggest this car provided you upgrade the engine.

And YES clearence is an issue (for that i am even trying to resolve the problem)

Bro i will tell you no car is like 86 or 88 ..specially the class of suspension and road grip ..really very nice car ....recently i sold my 86-87 civic which i think wrong descision of mine i sold my car without any reason just for the greed of profit ...but what i get i lost my precious civic now i can only weep for my car...the smooth engine , gun metalic color pick on CNG like patrol 5 front gear ... great alloys..... i am going to weep.....:S

As i know their is no problem of availability of parts ..you can easily purchase required parts from Mintgumre and billal ganj...i eve some parts of it front suspension and engine of 88 hatchback ... if any one interested i will give him in low rates

thanx man... i m on the hunt for this car but no luck as yet!!!

normally it is available in what engine specs?? what should i upgrade to and how much (estimate) it will cost??

Well my name is Danish and i m Automobile Technician in TOYOTA SOUTHERN MOTORS, KARACHI.
I hav honda civic 90, upgrade model of 88 civic.
i maintain it myself... its a very cool car and economical by means of fuel. the engine is SOHC D12B1 1200 cc Carb.
parts r little bit expensive but the joy of ride cannot b found in toyota or suzuki cars. and as far as my knowledge is concerned, its the most comfortable and light weight car in sedan category of HONDA'S.
I m attaching sum pics of my ride. i hav painted the rims myself. hope u wud like it........

u can contact me anytime after working hours regarding any problem in ur car...... because, in working hours, the cell phone is not allowed in the office. So, i leave it at home.
0333-3738698 is my number.

the stock engine is 1200 cc and is very light according to the weight of car. if u want both power and economy, then u can swap D15B3 Double VTec engine. it has 3 stage vtec system, means three separate cam profiles. when u r driving in normal conditions, stage-1 vtec is working. but when u need sum extra power to accelerate, then stage-2 vtec starts. in normal stage-1 vtec driving conditions, the fuel average will be about 13 to 14 km/ltr. and on highway cruising, it will go to about 18 km/ltr.
now come to the cost. i live in karachi and i know the prices of the local market.... from here. it will cost u around 60k. this amount includes engine, gear box, ecu, complete wiring harness, installation of engine in ur car, installation of electric fuel pump in ur car's gas tank. i mean complete setup will cost u around 65k here in khi.

it is best car bro bt its parts r not found too easily its a minor prob m also buing it in sme days coz i like its shape nd style

thanx man.... hope we soon hit on a good one!! will look to forward to listen from u when u find this ride...

any idea how much does an engine swap cost?

great car with ashtmatic engine needs a few stiffenings on the underbody too, put a EFI D16 in it and it would sail all day long

23 days later

dont worrybro civic 88 is a very good and a lovely car to keep,u definitly gonna enjoy it and yup there are no problems with cng as well.so be happy and get 1 but be sure that ur mechanics and electrition checl out the car before u get into the deal.

^^ I love this statement, mechanic and electrician se check karwao - lol they dont know anything in the first place... seen toooooooooooooo many now