All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Feb 2013
1 / 25
Feb 2013
Mar 2013

Hi, I own a recently imported 2008 silver vitz and got myself MOTHERS carnauba "Cleaner Wax". I wasn't very sure if I should pick up the mothers step 3 (pure wax) OR cleaner wax.
The two products that i am referring to are (solid forms):
http://www.mothers.com/02_products/05550-05750.html2
Mothers? California Gold? Brazilian Carnauba Cleaner Wax2

Now that I read about it, people say Cleaner wax has slight abbrassive material and for relatively newer cars, we should be using its step 3 version.

I am not a lot into detailing and looking for a car wash every week and wax every alternate weeks. So from a long run usage perspective, please suggest if both these products are almost equivalent OR the "cleaner wax" version isnt supposed to be used that regularly (every two weeks) and I should get it replaced with the Mothers ULTIMATE PURE wax?
  • created

Feb '13
  • last reply

Mar '13

replies

views

user

links

bro u dnt need to buy cleaner wax as a regulary wax
cleaner wax is use to clean the debris dirt from paint
after that u need a synthetic or natural wax
i will say u have silver colour
buy meguairs NXT tech 2.0 wax cost 2200
or meguiars ultimate paste wax cost 3200 u will get an MF cloth as well with wax
best waxes for silver colour also there will be no dust for atleast 3-4 days after wax

Best suggestion 10/10 :smiley:

Regarding "meguairs NXT tech 2.0 wax", would you suggest the solid or liquid version ? Somehow I get feeling the liquid ones need more quantity per application (even though a very thin layer is needed) and would finish off sooner ?...

i always prefer paste form wax due to 2 reasons
1) its protection is longer than liquied
2) past jar done more cars compare to liquied one as u already stated above

Thanks Ahmad. Since I am new to this, throwing a few more questions at you :slight_smile:

1. I am assuming, the application time and end result for both solid and liquid versions is same?
  2. Also, how does Mother Synwax compare to nxt 2.0 ?

As stated, the car is relatively newer and (silver color) and wouldn't want to go after products that may be an overkill while the same protection/shine/longevity could be achieved with slightly lesser profile products :slight_smile:

application of liquid waxes always easier / faster than paste form but its life ( protection life ) on car skin less than paste form.

mothersynwax also good synthetic wax but in comparison with nxt , nxt having longer protection life
my vote for nxt :slight_smile: or even ultimate wax better than nxt but local avilability is question mark

i heard shahid autos islambad having aik # stuff :slight_smile:

Yeah, I got the mothers cleaner wax from shahid autos, but found out after the purchase it has abbrassive material and as suggested by detailers , it shouldn't be used as a regular everytime wax. I will be visiting the shop again tomorrow.

I also got myself a "chamois towel" 16"x12" (blue colored, that comes folded in a plastic transparent can). Its both sided, one side has a heavy towely texture and the other is mild. Looks like this :

1http://www.lulusoso.com/upload/20120429/microfiber_chamois_car_cleaning_cloth_wash_towel.jpg1

I assume its good enough for waxing (from the light texture side thats like the microfiber) and also for drying wet car between the waxes ? OR should I get a microfiber specifically for waxing and keep this for drying only?
Is 600 the correct price for this chamois towel (16x12) as I bought it from a shop nearby shahid autos?

cleaner waxes are good to use once a while like once in 2 months safe and top up with ur regular wax , specialy good brands like mother and meguiars cleaner waxes are good and mild clensers in them to revive the paint for clear and vivid look in paint.
i personally like meguiars cleaner wax over mother's

seems u talking about microfiber cloth one side long hairs and one side fine hair
use long hair to buffout wax and use fine hair side for final buffing for supreem shine , the price u saying ias quite high , ahsan bhai @ volverine once told me he got meguiars supreem shine microfiber from shahid autos @rs800 each and its far beter in quality than one u talking about

for wax application use foam applicator pads , shahid autos having 4x4 inch foam soft applicator pads for roughly rs 100 each, give him ref of ahsan bhai pw member from abotabad to get better discounted rates :slight_smile:

price wise its expencive , however u can use this for car drying after wash, buffing out wax
but meguiars supreem shine is better option in just rs200 extra

How much applications (approx) does nxt 2.0 (liquid) gives ?

liquid nxt usualy comes in 16 oz and can done 25 to 27 applications provided u apply very thin application
while paste form can cover at least 50 to 55 thin applications
most of people apply very thick wax coat to car in understanding that it will give more gloss to car skin,
its totally wrong perception, as think application not only waste of wax but also give hard time to buffout wax residue
resulted we rub with more hand pressure which cause swirls and light scratches on skin surface :slight_smile:

8 days later

So, I got myself nxt tech 2.0 paste wax (2200). Special thanks to @volverine and @ahmad_yar for pointing me in this customised direction as per my needs.
I hope this to be a giant leap from cosmic/turtle :slight_smile:

Would appreciate any special quick tips (or a URL to a post where you may have already provided such tips) on how to apply this wax for best results (shine/protection)..

congrats
trust me its very good buy and u will amaze with the outcomes,
just shampoo wash, dry car and apply cleaner wax and topup with nxt

cleaner wax once in 2 months enough and in between just wash and nxt

moist foam applicator pad with spray bottle ( very lightly ) than apply very thin coat of wax on whole car painted panels and remove with clean microfiber cloth
thats it and enjoy mirror reflections :slight_smile:
awaiting out comes

ADVERTISEMENT

Thanks and noted. As far as removal is concerned, I believe I have to let it dry (for 3-5 minutes) and then remove it with MF changing sides.
Will have to see which dry day on a weekend I can get that wont be followed up by rain the next day :slight_smile: Its been happening like that for a few weeks and raining extremely heavy today with hails on and off.
As far as outcome is concerned, I will post pics InshAllah.
As for the current state, I washed the car this weekend (last wax done around 4-5 weeks ago which I am sure wouldn't be on as there wasn't much beading). Anyhow, this is how it looked (taken from cam):

Mashallha u have very clean car :slight_smile:
Synthetic waxes are easy on / easy off
Should apply in cool place under shed , its upto u , u like to apply panel by panel ( one panel at time ) or whole car in one go
As its easy to buffout
Just apply thin application , its not only save ur expencive wax but also give ease to buffout and supreen shine

Think wax layer waste of wax and if dryout than also casue swirls on surface by hard buffout :slight_smile:

Thanks Brother! Appreciate it... :slight_smile:

So a couple of questions coming at you again and posting it here incase it benefits anyone else:

1. What is this light green bottle of spray in the background of this pic:
    https://www.pakwheels.com/forums/attachments/body-work-interior-paint-glass-appearance/1138803-car-care-detailing-dreams-part-2-img_0467.jpg
    Just a regular water spray OR a desi foamer kind of spray?

2. My brother has a 95 corolla silver japanese (2008 regd) and MashAllah great exterior condition. He was using cosmic on it, doesn't want to go as high end as nxt. So how good is Turtle wax metallic http://sacaplus.info/img/p/45-96-large.jpg
    How would you rate this for a silver metallic?