All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Oct 2012
1 / 16
Oct 2012
Aug 2013

?oa.

Looking for an economical yet hassle free car... the Daewoo racer seems to be fine.. looks pretty good and selling pretty cheap...

Should one buy it`? Any cons?

Looking for cheap car for urban runs in Islamabad, without frequent mechanic trips...

Look forward to your feedback!!

So whos the expert here?

• created

Oct '12
  • last reply

Aug '13

replies

views

user

I have a Daewoo Racer and its my 2nd experience after almost 15-16 years (when this car was introduced into officers scheme)....Daewoo Racer is a good car. You should see the following before buying this car :
1. A spacious car with an extra ordinary trunk space (more than Corolla and Civic).
2. Engine doesnt heat up on A/C like ordinary old cars, if kept well.
3. Pick up on CNG and Petrol is quite better if consider its older body and engine as compared to newer cars.
4. Spare parts are CHEAPER than Corolla and Civic. Available in Rawalpindi/Islamabad/Karachi.....not common in other cities.
5. Cheaper to buy and at least a bit good looking than new MINIs, I would say HALF CARS, like 660cc catagory, evem Vitz, Cultus etc. etc.
6. Bad part is the genuine Daewoo Racer is 4 forward and without Power steering.
7. Another bad is that is gives maximum 120-125 km / 55Kg Cylinder CNG with A/C and without A/C it gives 150-155/55Kg Cylinder....not very fuel efficient.

......And finally dont go for people's suggestions regarding "Out of market" stuff....if someone asks you to go for "Market ki gari" and you dont have enough resources right now, ask him/her to buy one for you :slight_smile: Best of luck for purchase.

Thanks for the detailed analysis, DrBilalQamar!

I am encouraged to check this one out! I dont drive fast, so speed is not an issue for me. Need a car for a short time in Pakistan, get things done within islamabad for max a year inshAllah... will look out for the things you mentioned..

The most annoying thing I found in Daewoo Racer is its CONTROLS.
1. Indicator stick is on left side and wiper stick is on right. Windshield washers turn on if you try to go for dimmers :slight_smile:
2. Head lights are turned on from right dashborad panel but dimmer is on left indicator stick.
3. Seat adjustments on left instead of right and there are dials rather than pull clips/buttons in ordinary cars.
4. Fuel lid is on right side but silencer is on left side.
5. A/C will turn on before fan, so you have to feel a flash of cold air before going to fan :slight_smile:

BUT

Its the only mid size sedan like Corolla or Civic available in this price with same engine power, almost same looks (same models), same luxury and driving pleasure......Nowadays used Mehrans are even more expensive than Racer.....so dont worry about resale, buy cheap, sell cheap.....and chill :slight_smile:

Oh I see....so your stay would be maximum one year.....then I would suggest you to go for NISSAN SUNNY DIESEL 2.0D, CD20 Engine.

Dont get yourself stuck in CNG stuff. Coz you will be bearing 6 to 7 Rs / Km on CNG on Baleno, Liana, Daewoo Racer, Corolla, Civic etc and you ll just have to pay a few paisas more per km on Nissan Diesel engine, that is around 7 Rs/Km. Dont waste your time in waiting in CNG lines and increase your maintenance cost, as Diesel engine needs LESS maintenance than petrol or CNG one.
You ll get it in 4-4.5 lacs, 1998 model I think.

its certainly is cheap in market,but trust me every daewoo is a horror show, if u dont have AC installed u will sweating most of the time (but its AC is super powerful ) there maybe a frequent gas leakage as well if u drive it quite a lot, second is mileage my mechanic used to call daewoo as "safaid hati" certainly gives u pick but consumes quite a lot of petrol and cng,as far as going to mechanic is concerned you will be going there at least once a month no matter how much good condition the car is (racer or cielo),its my 5 experience with daewoo and i regretted the day i bought itand it was in super good condition...if u have a low budget i suggest u go for mehran much better if u want big boot then yeah sure go fo daewoo but also mind its resale.no one will buy it unless its cheap.

i will suggest u to strech ur budget a bit, u ll get a nice alto 2006 model for around 550k!!alto is better than mehran looks good and in the end sells off at a good price!!

Dear XenYen

You seem chinese :slight_smile:

Daewoo Racer is certainly an excellent car if you have one.

"Out of market" = Less chance of chori..!!

But it is certainly a fuel guzzler. Your operating cost may be high. But then it all depends upon the distances you travel.

Other than that, it has everything that you want to have in a Sedan. Drives like a charm..!!!

Good Luck

Daewoo Racer will not make you runto mechanic every week as Mehrans and other Suzuki older cars usually do....get it fixed once with good stuff and enjoy for months.

Inzi said well that there is LESS chance of theft coz it is out of market.

But please dont compare it with Suzuki small cars, its a DAEWOO RACER, 1.5 OHC & 1.6 DOHC, Sedan with solid body and EFI engine, not a piece of disproportional and thin metal sheets usually found in Mehran, Khyber, Cultus, Alto etc :slight_smile:

9 months later

Yes I have been driving daewoo for over 3 years now. very nice car. It can also easily be upgraded like power steering & 5 speed gearbox.

Sorry for jumping into thread :smiley: its not EFI , its MPFI (Multiple Point Fuel Injection).

I have kept 02 daewoos, off sch Reg 97 and 2001...its a good car but AC is a fuss, i switched to Santro in 2004 and since that day i m totally happy.

Sent from my A8 using PW Forums mobile app

Well incomplete info; the stock 1.5 OHC engine is MPFI but the DOHC 1.5 liter engine is en EFI... i guess u dont know about it... and as for AC it's wonderful maybe ur AC mechanic was a fuss :slight_smile:

Bhai jan obviously if there is somebody sensible he will know that i m talking about the stock engine, 2ndly Its AC is a FUSS...there is no doubt about it, even the Daewoo personnels "Arshad" and "Arif", who had the specialized Daewoo workshop in pindi , isb had the same opinion with same words in urdu kay Museebat hai iss ka AC...if by chance , you go to some renowned and reliable AC shop, chk from them, they dont even entertain Daewoo n huyndai Excel.Reason is not their incompetancy, reason is the complex sys of AC of these two vehicles.I have kept 2 racers, both zero meter, i was fan of them like you but fact is a fact.

Sent from my A8 using PW Forums mobile app

Usama & nakheb ..... good info but Daewoo Racer 93 is NOT Efi or MPFI....its TBI, throttle body injection :slight_smile:

do not buy this Car, i had it. you wont find experts of this car and no one easily understand it.
Its better to go for any small efi car than 1500cc corborator old car! this drinks petrol horribly

ADVERTISEMENT

There is no rocket science in it... there are so many experts... don't push it on petrol and it'll avg around 9~10 km/l and by the way who's driving it on petrol huh? It's a proper car not some crapy pieces of metal sheets glued together :stuck_out_tongue: