All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
May 2024
1 / 10
May 2024
May 2024

I have a Honda City 2001-2 EXI-S Automatic. The Issue I am facing is that in the last 3 days its AC compressor has released the refrigerant/gas thrice. The cooling before it released gas was amazing all three times, it always happened after 25-30 mins of drive, car's temperature was fine, no overheat, radiator is new, fans are working so no heat up.

The desi AC mechanic is saying compressor is done, it gets heated up after 25-30 mins and then releases the refrigerant. Now I know the compressor is weak as cooling is a bit compromised and I have no problem in getting it changed, but I want to be sure first that it's compressor which is the culprit behind this all.

What I personally know a little bit is that it might be happening due to pressure getting too much in the compressor or high pressure line, but as far as I know there is a high pressure cut off switch that should trip my AC before releasing gas, but the AC mechanic says there is no such thing on any car AC, but I have read about it everywhere.

Personally I couldn't see any such switch on my high pressure line, can anyone confirm about it and guide me what's the problem here?

Thank you so much!

• created

May '24
  • last reply

May '24

replies

views

users

No. What gave you that impression? I understand that there are other components i.e. Condenser, Evaporator etc.

Your opening statement and continued mention of replacement of compressor and repeated gas leakage due to it. A wrong txv can severely mess up the superheat and also cause the blowoff to open up.

Was the leak site ever located?

Just got my entire unit checked. Txv valve is fine, it was the condenser that was messed up completely. Apparently that's what was causing too much pressure in the lines, and in the absence of a pressure cutoff switch it was blowing refrigerant.

The compressor got ruined too, was carbon in the lines. Attaching the condenser picture below.

Gotta replace condenser & compressor. Should I replace the evaporator too?

PS: Never changed the compressor before this if that's what you got from my original post. Just the refrigerant was topped up and was blown off repeatedly.

Any time a compressor suffers mechanical failure, the condenser is replaced without question along with the discharge line.

Your condenser is showing an oil spot too (the dirt), it’s evidence of a leak, im surprised your mechanic didnt see this.

Sorted now. Changed Compressor, Condenser & Evaporator. Also put a new receiver drier and installed a pressure cut off switch over it.

Cooling seems fine till now, just driven 6-7 kms after that, will let here know if any problem comes up.

Important to note here that previous compressor used to take too much load, now with new components the car feels very light on AC.

What do u mean when you say pressure cut off switch? Do you mean you have hooked refrigerant pressure switch which was missing earlier?

As far as we talk about load it shows your old condenser was clogged from inside or leaky area was trapping in moisture resulting in refrigerant flow blockage.

Good luck if it's resolved.

Yes, refrigerant pressure switch. And yup, load was apparently due to the blockage.

Things have resolved now, cooling is fine till now, have driven 50-60 kms after that.

Tho one unrelated issue with the car is that it drops 100-150 RPM on AC, and when shifted to D/R gear from P/N. I have never able to solve this, neither any mechanic has any satisfactory answer to this, AC is properly routed through the ECU, have verified through scanner that it detects AC on/off, also increases IACV values accordingly, but still RPM is dropped.

Can you guys please guide me into this where should I look at to diagnose it? Specially @Xulfiqar?