After few years in Dirt biking I started to have urge ( aka keera ) to own an SUV more appropriately a actual 4X4 vehicle
I was keeping a cultus from 2008 and a Diahatsu boon\passo since last two years but never kept a diesel vehicle let alone 4 X 4 SUV.
I started talking to friends @waqqasnasir my old buddy from pakwheels gave me some insight he pwned an engine swapped sleeper Potohar / Seira for quite a few years and active in 4X4 community and had done some pretty nasty tracks in north.
Being a Dirt Biker himself he was all into details and gave me a good insight about all the dynamics of keeping an SUV.
original plan was to avoid Hiux due to much hype the prices are unreasonable and all the maintenance crew and parts every thing in the ecosystem.
What we originally had in mind was to acquire a dead / almost dead cheetah swap a fire-breathing motor in it and prep it from ground up.
Dead Nissan Cheetah = 4~5
prep and engine swap = 4~5 additional

and in a million we can get a VIP Cheetah ready to rumble, we would send it to bahawalpur and get it prepped by some professional who make rally SUVs
But by the time we started looking the rates were totally different in market let alone prepping expenses.
I started looking at Olx, PW and other websites and for a month I visited various sellers checked various pickup, rigs and trucks I started to look thoroughly for an actual Hilux as that was the only thing which was in market.
But Hilux from early 90s was still reaching 2 Million it was astonshing.. (dhoodh walay or murghi walay Hilux bhi 1.5 million k around thay)...
Saw this hilux from 90s with front back kamani type and was around a million and it as totally rust eaten ... left it for good..
While I was on a lookout @dromair another very good friend and an SUV enthusiast shared me a link to a Nissan nivara ( i was hearing the 'Navara' first time all i knew was a band called nirvana.... this was new) and machine was a looker)
When I read the specs the werent low either, i started looking up on the internet about its reputation and it wasnt bad too... suddenly I was interested.. lol
I called waqqas bhai and showed him and he smirked.. "yar ye tu apny groupki gari hay..." dosra dost or mera university fellow @kashikhan bola yaar ye tu mobashir bhai hain netsol men hotay hain..... and I was like ... "Dude !! yani paghal thoray say he hotay hain... saray aik dosray ko jantay hotay hain..." lolxx
The Rig in focus was a 2007 D22 made in japan with a 3200cc QD32 actual ALLMOTOR with no fancy stuff going around, had a plenty of horse and pure 4 X 4 machine.
Was auctioned off from SNGPL authorities and the fact that it was in use by officers it was clean.. had to put Alloys, New Tires and nothing else.
Mobashir himself from 4x4 feternity was a complete magician and he took it over from original auctioneer any ways the deal was done a grand above 1.5 million the invoice of this Rig was 2.8 million 13 years ago, and this Rig is still tip top.
I absolutly had no clue what to check where to check I just called @angel82 who is also a heavy duty biker but has no clue of RIGs to join me.. grabbed the funds went to Mobashir's place and told him you can literally F** me up right now as I have no clue what to check in RIG an my both "jeeper" friends are out of town... mobashir was amused he said well dont belive on me just use it you will understand... so we had a deal I paid up and asked @angel82 to ride this "Thing" to my home I was bit hesitant its a long vehicle ...
Now its been 4~5 months since I am using it daily and I am not getting more and more SUV institutionalized and not driving the passo any more...