All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Nov 2018
1 / 12
Nov 2018
Nov 2018

All respected Pakwheelers.. I have a project car that is going to be finalized very soon inshallah and since I have changed almost all the parts the last remaining thing is the radiator.

I am confused between buying an aluminium one or a copper one.. if any of you can guide me what are the pros and cons of both of them and what will be an approximate cost for the thing.

I live in Karachi and the car in concern is a Lancer 1988 with a 4g13.

@nnabeel @Xulfiqar SB. @dayrider and many many others kindly guide .

• created

Nov '18
  • last reply

Nov '18

replies

views

users

link

Copper Core:
Pros: best conductor of heat, hence faster dissipating of heat, can be repaired if minor damage
Cons: Expensive, heavy, relatively lesser life, hard to find these days.

Aluminium:
Pros: Cheap, lighter, longer service life, lesser pron to rust..
Cons: less efficient as compared to copper, cannot be repaired easily

A copper one will work well, the only issue with it is rust, and you can prevent that with anti-rust paint and using coolant, copper all the way

@qazi_sajid Bhai i always use auto fan and thermovalve. One of my family car's has a aluminum radiator and it works quite fine. But The car in concern always had a copper one so i am confused. My mechanic told me that any good radiator will do the job as long as i take care of the thing.

it is quite cheaper, just checked first thing nothing will be ready made for my car they will make the radiator according to the size and it will cost me around 7000 where as an aluminium one can be fitted with slight modification and it will cost 4500.

8 days later

Hi,
I am also planning to get radiator for my cultus 2007 and stuck in copper vs aluminium thing... can anyone please share updated prices of both and which will be good for cultus. As heard copper radiator will not be good with aluminium engine block so should go for aluminium?