All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Nov 2019
1 / 35
Nov 2019
Nov 2019

I opened the master cylinder cap only to find dark brown brake fluid. I do not have time on my hands and I wanted to ask, rather than bleeding the whole system out, can I suck most of the old dirty fluid out and replace it with new one, will three to four cycles of it ultimately be able to remove all the dirty brake fluid? Also, should i go for dot 3 or dot 4? Thank you. The car is a 2002 city sx8.
@Xulfiqar @capsat @dani_kk

Solved by Xulfiqar in post #17

first drain the complete brake fluid and then pour the new brake fluid
any problem in brake system

If brake fluid is not replaced on time it will expand the internal seals on its expiray date. You better replace all brake cylinders for optimal braking performance as per manufacturer recommendation. Usually brake fluid life is 2 years.

that little fluid change wont work - the correct way to change out all fluid is to flush bleed from each wheel till you see fresh fluid from the bleeders - the whole car will take about 700~1000 ml or so.

And it does not take a lot of time. Brakes must always be serviced properly including fluid changes as you say.

No you need to top up and bleed from all wheels in diagonal. Until you see clean fluid running out.

Tell me the order in which I should bleed the system and which brake oil should I use? If somehow i break any one of the four bleed nipples, can it be replaced?

Front right and rear left, then front left and rear right.
Follow any diagonal.

Try moving from front to back.

Dot 3 sieken.
Outstanding hai.
380-430 kay bechmein ek can milta hai uska. I've tested it on many cars, kafi high quality hai

Chalo bhai boht boht shukria, i willl do this tomorrow. What happened was, I parked the car for an hour or so, after starting it I noticed that the pedal had to be pushed almost to the floor for the brakes to function, all pads and shoes are new, there was no leakage in the system, but the brake oil was dark brown.
I hope this will fix my issue.

You may need to check the Master cylinder for failing seals. Please do not take a chance with this.

ADVERTISEMENT

your master cylinder is trashed - rebuild or replace. Dont try to flush on that as you will destroy it further if you push the pedal to the floor.

That is bad news, it is hard to source new parts for this car already. The brakes eventually started working as they should and they were also fine yesterday, is it really useless to bleed the system and put in new fluid? Or should I just go for repairing it?

Gave my car to my trusty old mechanic today, he called me after 30 minutes and told that the master cylinder is past its expiry date. Got a it changed, bled all the black sludge from the brake lines and put in new Seiken brake fluid. Never knew this car could stop like this. :hushed:
Thank you guys. @ibrar3 @Xulfiqar @VCheng @dani_kk