All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Mar 2011
1 / 22
Mar 2011
Jul 2021

Dear Members,

Kindly help me and other fellows in this situation with your kind suggestions regarding AC Gas.

I want to refill AC Gas in my khyber-91, as summer season is on. Market mai 2 no gas zayada milti hai. In one thread I have read that R-12 is best Gas for Ac but my mechecnic was saying it is low pressure gas while in vehicles high pressure gas is used.

Now finally based on your experiences, suggest that what Gas should be used in CAR AC for best AC performance and low load on engine as well.

• created

Mar '11
  • last reply

Jul '21

replies

views

users

link

older cars don't use 134a, they use the pollution friendly gas, i can't recall its name, let Mr. Xulfiqar come :slight_smile:

R12 is some how better interms of cooling but its not enviorment friendly so its not used in new vehicles. New ones use R134. For R134 you need multi aisle condensor (Recomended) along with R134 compressor.

R134 is kinda difficuilt gas to cool down as compare to R12.

Baki about quality of gas you can try and get gas refilled from some reliable person or go to some authorized dealer like suzuki or toyota maybe they can help u.

try going to punjab car ac
we have been getting the A/c Work done from there since long time
and never had a problem

i am not sure about the type of gas you should use
but punjab ac's service is quite reliable

my margalla uses it. i think khayber uses same. the owner should see engine bay sticker. it tells which gas

Thanx @ ALL

Mr. Xulfiqar where you are bhai...................

Want to know your scientific opinion.

r134 is a hard to cool down gas n r12 is easy to cool down...but it depends wat type of condenser u use..mutli flow can cool down r134 gas...
for old condensers,r12 is better....
xulifiqar told me in one of my query so just sharing..
xulifiqar is the only person here to look for right!
he knows too much for a human being :stuck_out_tongue:

R134 refrigerant is good, but does not want to reject heat quick enough, hence it needs to be channeled in very thin tubes to reject the superheat gained from being compressed. Similarly it also needs a very thin tube evaporator to heat up (boil) as it does not like to accept heat like the old R12 did.

R12 on the other hand was discontinued mostly because DuPont's patent expired. It was used in older A/Cs which were no doubt heavy duty but also had thicker designs making the heat transfer slower (the gas took up for it)

If you are trying to run R134 in a system with a small serpentine condenser and thick evaporator - forget about cooling, pray it barely runs. Either you should have a very large condenser with multiple high speed fans or a very efficient evaporator with slow moving air.

@ cracked
If your A/C serviceman told you that statement of low pressure gas etc and is not used for cars - remove your car from his shop as soon as possible, the person is not qualified to service a car's A/C

@Xulfiqar
@cracked
Thanx for guiding

i have Khyber 91 model and compressor is it's own. Means jo stock khybers mai ata tha old wala. Now I want excellent cooling in my ride. Guide me how it will possible.
I dont want to be a lay man to keep my ride to an A/C mechenic and charge 2500 for just hecking and service. Yar itna complex system to nahi hota AC ka jo sirf Hath laganai ka 1000 charge kartai hain and we pay them without any hesitation. Each mechanic present his own SCIENCE. I want to know that what are the main factors involved for best cooling in any car.

gas depends on your compressor. if it is r12 then it needs r12 you cant fit r134a in it.
having said that you should not worry about cooling in khyber as it is big enough to hold an ac. even mehran can do good cooling if gets treatment by expert.
if you are in lahore then i recommend you to go to either cool sun or on ahmed car ac booth are good.
thirdly, when you refill your gas first pay most attention to any sort of gas leakage coz it is enemy of your compressor and engine, a bubble leaking per second causes 40oz gas to leak a year(senden user manual says). then service you condenser; it must be super clean.
get your ac pipes insulated, get good quality drier; it really matters.
i hope it helps

USB

The A/C system is pretty simple but has its own sciences too, A good A/C system can be acheived by having a the condenser and evaporator innards very very clean. (I use 1-1-1 Trichloroethene sometimes to clean them out if they are loaded with black gunk) because just as if the outside is packed with dirt - it will not shed heat the same applies for the inside too.

The rest is HVAC basics - superheat, line pressure, vent temperature etc.

Xulfiqar bhai ,
will there be any effects on cooling if the fans is not attached to condenser properly , i mean the fan and condenser have gap between them?
fixing another additional fan will be benfical or not ???....... my cars ac works nice if the journey is not than 3 km but not well enough is short drives , local condenser is installed ( long one which covers 70% of radiator ) with original fan in my CIVIC 94 dolphin shape.
thankyou

ADVERTISEMENT

yes - there will be cooling loss if the condenser fan/s are not ducted or fit properly. leaving a gap actually makes an exhaust path for the fan - the air will come out of the sides rather than go through the condenser, if you have a 95 civic install the multiflow condenser from a 1996 VTi civic - it fits bolt on perfectly (like original) and works very very nicely to reduce head pressure and have great chilling in the system.

Obviously whoever installed your A/C condenser had no idea of air movement and heat transfer

Mashallah at sir Xulfiqars knowledge on each car area.
Since the thread is going nice, i would like to know

1)By which name does 1-1-1 Trichloroethene come in our local market?

2)My AC mechanic jus cleans the lines and condensor with petrol !! He pour in the lines and in the condensor and shakes n drains. Petrol comes out little dirty but was just wondering whats best?

3)Also whenver i get the AC serviced, he does as mentioned above he asks me start the car n turn AC on n he pours some oil in the compressor inlet n presses his finger on outlet to let pressurize and then releases, whts the use?

4)Also whats the best chemical to clean the MAP/MAF sensor? WD40?

8 years later