All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Mar 2015
1 / 16
Apr 2015
Apr 2015

AoA ,

Dear experts, in my previous post i needed an engine for one of my FJ40s restricted to 3000cc limit.
Well, i was advised to go for 1KZ-T and though I'm still running the F2 with now a modified carb of 3Y engine as browsing around on some forums' thread it was said that it works well and gives better mileage.Yes, it does work well (maybe it's new) and I don't feel any power loss and yes there is significant improvement on fuel consumption too (though haven't measured it exactly).Though at some point I might switch to 1kZ or any other 3000cc diesel,that option is still open.

This post is regarding my other FJ40 with no limits on engine power.
Right now it also has an F2 in working condition but will surely be swapping it with a V6,V8,6cl st diesel or 4cl diesel preferably 150HP+.
So, my question is which is the best engine /gear setup for FJ40 that will be 50% on road and off road equally with 35 to 38 inch tyres.

I need to know the least troublesome and best option available with best low end torque.
Won't be driving over 100 KM as these vehicles are not meant for speed but infact I need an all rounder engine gear and axle/diff setup with the mentioned tyre size with max offroading capabilities.
Will be installing front n rear disc brakes and lift kit.

if I go for 80's axles ,will it help regarding the tyre size ?

Anybody running 13B-T or 14B-T out there? Plz share the engines' power and your feedback.

I will be hesitating to go for very modern engine on a rather old model vehicle due to the engine's electronics.
Or if anybody knows how to tackle that then yes plz do share your input.

Thank you
Best regards

• created

Mar '15
  • last reply

Apr '15

replies

views

user

Thanks Kashif bhai,I don't know if these gentleman have the time to answer on this ghisa pita topic anymore :slight_smile:
Suhaib Kiani sahab is into racing ,I won't be racing at all just need the most reliable engine for very remote areas.
I haven't driven these engines or have very little knowledge about them.I'm modifying this vehicle for very long journeys.So, need recommendation for the most reliable motor (preferably diesel engine).
Thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

1 HZ or 3-F is the answer. Miraculous engines. Second option could be New 3B.

Diffs : Original FJ40s with disc brakes and spacers
Gear : Toyota FJ40 5 speed
Engine: 1HZ / 14B

33s are the biggest tire size I would recommend if the car is to be used on any regular basis. 35+ only if its a special occasion / show vehicle. Tire weight is important and there is no cheap way of controlling the bumpiness on a stock FJ40 with even 33s.

Thank you very much Kiani sahab for your valuable and to the point input.
You really narrowed it down regarding engine.(1HZ it is)

The larger tyre size is only for getting more road clearance and it is going to be an all terrain vehicle going on road to sand,mud,snow,small streams,gravel and rocky terrains.It will certainly NOT be a show or cosmetic vehicle.

However as you know the centre of gravity getting higher many issues start to occur and to tackle that I was considering 80's axles and suspension setup besides it will cover the spacer issue (the spacers made here in old lathe machines are not uniformed) and I'm opting for rims with 5 inch backspacing (I think it's going to be in minus offset).So up to my understanding with wider tubes and the 5" BS rims and some body trimming I might be able to get away by having a wider vehicle regarding height.
On the other hand if I stick to 40's axles and 33s,the adaptor/spacer combo with the adaptor sitting on top of hub and spacer bolted to adapter and rim (will need longer studs) will be a durable and cheaper option but won't be getting more clearance.

So, engine is sorted.

Now I need road clearance in best possible and trouble free way.

Everything is on hold as I can't figure out the best way to setup my suspension/tyre combination first.

BTW I am considering vent.disc brakes in front and flat disc at rear.

This year's budget is 10 Lac excluding engine/tranny if I go for 38s,though it can be stretched a bit more.

I'll be highly obliged by your experienced and valuable input on this matter.

best regards

Believe me Noman bhai, I have given very serious thought about the 3B as it's the stock engine and a very hardy one no doubt but considering the 38 tyre size it's a bit underpowered.If I didn't go for 35+ tyres then either 3B or 14B will be my top choices.

Thank you!
best regards

All good and well. Centre of gravity and clearance is not an issue even with 31 or 33 inch tires. There are ways of raising the car with leaf spring adjustment and longer shackles, at least high enough that you wont really need taller tires. Once again I will say that bigger tires look good, but practically speaking its not a pleasurable drive on a lightweight FJ40.

A fairly large proportion of the FJ40 weight is in the diffs and once you add heavier tires there is no easy way of countering the fact that the diffs will just push the frame and body up even on small bumps. Meaning, it might look good but the construction wala's FJ40 that pulls that generator around town will seem like a rolls royce ride in comparison. Most of the 285/16 MTs that you find are pretty tall tires to begin with and going from there to 35s or 37s isn't really all that big of a difference. Nevertheless, for us its a matter of tall tire availability rather than selection. If you get good condition 35s go for them, but I would again not recommend more than 33s or equivalent 285/16.

Tire sizes of 35+ are a whole different ball game and from all what I have seen in offroad and rally, are rather useless for all our current purposes. To date, in our terrains and with our current cars, whatever a big tire vehicle will do a 1942 Willys or a SJ410/Jimny will do equally well. The big tire will break or wear out the car much faster while the chicken legged one will keep skimping on and on. To do it right, modifications of 35+ require extensive drivetrain modifications and the cars are just not road / track friendly even in the best of cases.

31" or max 33", a stock B1, B2, B3 or max 13BT, which are all bolt on fittings will be best for a 40. Not only what you need, they can perform excellent in any type of offroading keeping in view the wheel base of a 40, which is not too long. As sohaib bhai said, there are many other ways to lift the body a little. Though i could not digest the idea of 5" spacers in rims. Sounds useless keeping in view your requirements. And than it has more disadvantages than the usefullness.

And about the petrol engines, i have used both 2F and 3F. They are good for high speeds but not very competent in low ratios, and than fuel consumption is a problem.

And the wider tubes, NOT recommended at all. My question would be WHY?????????

==================================
AoA,
I apologize for late reply (one person many matters)

Kiani sahab,
Raising the vehicle is not an issue ,it will be raised only to have longer suspension travel or accomodate larger tyres.
However a raised vehicle if looked from side or standing looks pretty high but the tubes and diffs (handi) are still attached to the ground with the tyres.That is the real road clearance IMO.From 33 to 38 I will achieve a few inches of actual height.
On normal rallies 33 to 35 inches are enough though at Baja 1000 race trucks do use 37-38 size with extreme modifications but that is not my goal.

Yes you are right, that is why I'm opting for wider tubes.
I think in mechanics any thing can be achieved even in very wierd or extreme cases.
With 1HZ and it's transmission and axles I think it can be done,we can adjust and mount the 40's suspension with SOA,SR ,longer shackles and longer travel adjustable shocks such as Rancho 9000 series,well whatever is required.Or can go for heavy duty coil suspension.
Availability of taller tyres is not an issue I will import new tyres from Dubai or USA.
Same goes for special rims.

Your last paragraph is where I'm stuck for nearly 2 yrs. :slight_smile: (these days I have very less time to go n sit n guide the ustads involved ,first I should know n understand what I'm making and how it will be made).
And will need the most help if I opted for 38s.

I'm trying to get the most of an all terrain vehicle from an FJ40 with these modifications.

best regards

just to make my self clear what I'm talking about :

==========================

Noman bhai, I pretty much explained above answering to Kiani sahab, in short with some pics and an verbal example I'll try to explain about wider tubes.
Think of a man 8 feet tall standing straight with his ankles and feet closely joined.Now push him from side and he will fell like a log.However if that man spreads his legs 2 or 3 feet wide you will not be able to make him fall with the same strength.
In this case tall is the ride height of SWB jeep,ankle and feet closely tide are the shorter tubes.Meaning while turning even at low speeds with height increased the jeep is very prone to roll over due to height n SWB.

Spacers are not in rims but rims are forged in a way that they give 4,5,5.5 or even 6 inch of backspacing for easy mounting of wider tires so that they should not run against the inner parts of vehicle body ,brake calipers and fenders.

An example of a rim with 5 inch backspacing.

Usually these vehicles are carried to the place where they have to do mud or rock crawling but I'm trying to make a vehicle which is multipurpose and can be driven on road too without any issues.

A wider vehicle with somewhat lesser road clearance but can be driven on road also (forget the tyre type)

I hope you get the idea :slight_smile:

cheers!

Sometime like this in mind? Atleast I have for my next project!

Ha ha ,Khan ji ,I think I'll end up with a body shell of 40 :slight_smile:

ADVERTISEMENT