All outgoing email has been globally disabled by an administrator. No email notifications of any kind will be sent.
Jul 2009
61 / 93
Sep 2010
Oct 2010

what i like about the city AT, that it has vtec coupled with nice gear box.
so you will fetch good money on resale compare to liana. but that's just to tell you how
better the AT is these days if it comes with (Variable Valve Timing Intelligence) vtec, vvti or ivtec etc.
but still, not having a fifth gear, causes more thirst of fuel on high ways. but very very good and balanced fuel economy in city.

above all this city techno thing, the Gli is better in all ways. i tell you, if you will buy liana, you will regret that you should'v bought city AT. and if you will buy city AT then chances are you will convence yourself that it is better from Gli in many ways.
still having city AT will give you kicks in nightmares that you should'v gone for Gli for millions of reasons.
so be wise on this purchase.

and say big NO to liana for ever. (this is advice for everyone who has choice between liana and any other car.)

59k is nothing for a Toyota :slight_smile:

But in the used cars segment Liana is a steal,
Here in Karachi a 2006 Liana is for 6 lacs and a 2006 City in similar condition is for 9+ lacs !

Theres no comparison between the 2 now, City AT is about 14 lacs, Liana 1.6 after discount would be around 11.

that's nice, the liana is already out of business, well beside the price relief for only few thousands kms.

bro ur absolutely right, all thes hondas and toyotas same paki stuff, liana is a better offer but the only prob is the stigma attached to it, unfortunately we live in a very materialistic society, so with liana ur a suzuki which is thumb down for certain ppl

In Pindi-Islamabad 06 Liana is still above 9 lacs

And these kind of useless creatures(considering liana a bad car on the basis of Suzuki) are in minority in Pakistan and in majority on Pakwheels.. Humain in keeray makoron aur Pakistan ke dushmaonon ko theek karna ho ga.. because inhon ne Pakistan ko bahaut nuqsaan pohanchaya hai..

and say big NO to liana for ever. (this is advice for everyone who has choice between liana and any other car.)

that's nice, the liana is already out of business, well beside the price relief for only few thousands kms.

I will be grateful if you read my above post..

MANY REGARDS..

bro ur absolutely right, all thes hondas and toyotas same paki stuff, liana is a better offer but the only prob is the stigma attached to it, unfortunately we live in a very materialistic society, so with liana ur a suzuki which is thumb down for certain ppl

Really bro.. You summed up all the discussion.. Great yaar.. I am copying your this post in my signature..

u will see me defending Suzuki Swift all over the forums
u will also see me criticizing ppl who claim "Suzuki Sucks" because in reality Modern Suzuki cars r equally good as Honda and Toyota counterparts

BUT Liana is not a modern car
its a car Launched way back in 2001 with a decade old technology
there is absolutely no reason to buy it over a HondaCity/Toyota Corolla if ur talking brand new one

Suzuki SX4 is the equivalent of Current Honda City /Toyota Corolla

i dont judge cars on the "companies" tht made them
u wont see me calling a car "not worth to buy" just because its a Suzuki

And these kind of useless creatures(considering liana a bad car on the basis of Suzuki) are in minority in Pakistan and in majority on Pakwheels.. Humain in keeray makoron aur Pakistan ke dushmaonon ko theek karna ho ga.. because inhon ne Pakistan ko bahaut nuqsaan pohanchaya hai..

i have ur answer in the above post man

we dont judge cars on "Suzuki" or "Honda"
we compare cars on their International markets equivalents

Liana is now OUTDATED
Old Shape Corolla and City IDSI r now OUTDATED
see wht the point im trying to make?

Old Shape Corolla and City IDSI r now OUTDATED

Hey you really said that?? I can't believe it you are saying this..

I had a good laugh reading this thread... I mean how many people who have posted here ACTUALLY owned/driven the car they are talking about..Well I have owned liana 1.6 eminent 2006 model and driven a friends corolla gli 2010 model around lahore...Liana is definitely a better car (according to my conditions and priorities) because firstly It has immobiliser (which is very important to me atleast) and secondly It has enough grip for a FAMILY SEDAN...I am just a normal driver and hardly go over 120km/hr on highways and over 60km/hr in city or maybe every second pakwheeler is micheal schumacher who has driven all three cars mentioned in this thread to edge to comment on its grip/driveability and handling...hmmm..and as from reliabilty point of view, the opinions are subjective...I have seen liana breakdown at 20,000 km and I have seen some go over 100,000km and still working perfect...Mine had 60,000km before I sold it and it drove like new and I STRONGLY RECOMMEND not to use CNG on this car...not a good combination. So to sum it up, Corolla looks better in my opinion, has smaller engine, about the same interior space and boot as liana...Liana is auto, also engine is bigger(will effect fuel economy slightly)...and has IMMOBLISER...i mean I would hate to have my NEW CAR stolen :S..dvd player and etc are a plus too....the only thing corolla beats liana is at economy and resale value...somebody shed some light on more areas that corolla beats liana in...oh and looks are subjective.. and I am sorry I couldn't comment on city as I never drive it:)

The eminent liana is 1.6.
No comparison with 1.3.
I,ve seen the car from inside.
The only thing I disliked was that no variant was available with manual transmission.
Other wise under its price tag I think its a much better buy.

ADVERTISEMENT

Hey you really said that?? I can't believe it you are saying this..

City Ex > City EXIs > City iDSI > City iVtec

its only "PakSuzuki" tht pushes out a single car for decades
they shuld just close production on Liana and start bringing in SX4

all over the world Suzuki Swift has gotten a facelift in 2010
they launched the 2005 Launch model in Pakistan

Toyota Indus Shape Corolla was a solid car
on of the best we have seen on our roads but tht doesnt mean the same car shuld be produced for decades to come
technology advances in automobiles

Brother, It doesn't mean that if the shape was launched in xxxx year compared to other model in yyyy year means ADVANCEMENT IN TECHNOLOGY! do you know toyota corolla 2OD has engine from 1985:) cool eh? and oh they put same transmission in diesel cars that is in petrol...wow wow...bottom line is: NONE of the manufacturers are GOOD in Pakistan....except city really upped there car this time with new engine(better) and shape....but I have never driven it nor owned it...so I can't comment on that:) and like I said...I couldn't careless about shape if the engine was pathetic...

yar ur rite Launch Year cannot be an accurate judge of Technology Advancement
but a car launched in 2008 is bound to have more advancement than a car launched in 2001

in regards to City and Liana
we have seen 4 Revisions of Honda City in the past decade
iDSI City brought the most fuel efficient Engine in 1300CC class

iVTEC City added the much needed horsepower while retaining the fuel efficiency of iDSI
also the addition of EPS / EBD / DBW

the point im making what is the point of buying a zero meter Liana when City/Corolla have advanced beyond Liana

Liana also has ABS/EBD/EPS etc...It would be very kind of you if you can list the exact technology advancements corolla/city has over liana:)..I do agree about city having advanced engine but come on...3 lakhs more just for a marginal advancement?Is it really worth it? and as for corolla...It doesn't have a SINGLE ADVANCEMENT over Liana...atleast in aspects of technology....the engine in corolla gli is produced from 1999 and vvti was introduced from 2004 in that engine( 2NZ-FE)...and toyota introduced vvti in so-called all new corolla in 2008? correct me if I am wrong...

Liana also has ABS/EBD/EPS etc...It would be very kind of you if you can list the exact technology advancements corolla/city has over liana:)..I do agree about city having advanced engine but come on...3 lakhs more just for a marginal advancement?Is it really worth it?

Liana RXi doesnt have EBD and no Liana trim has EPS
City adds DBW = Drive by Wire Technology

also City costs 12.6 Lakh while Liana 1.3 RXi costs 11.3 Lakhs
its slightly 1 Lakh more expensive

City IVTEC has more HorsePower and much better Fuel Economy than Liana and its non VVT Engine

one more thing
Suzuki has replaced Liana with SX4 all over the world
we r the only country in the world who r manufacturing Liana because PakSuzuki doesnt want to invest in a new assembly line setup
if Honda and Toyota can do i why cant PakSuzuki

why r they selling Liana for 11.3 Lakh when they shuld be selling the SX4 for around the same price?

and i agree on the Toyota bit
they too r reaping the benefits of "Resale" which tends to increase Toyota Corollas Sale above all other cars in Pakistan

even if they didnt introduce this current shape with VVT Engine
the old Corolla wuld still be out selling all other 1300CC cars in Pakistan

bottom line is Toyota and Honda do atleast keep the cars up to date with their international models
same shape corolla and city r being sold all over the world

Liana has been replaced and we need SX4 in Pakistan